american-flag--about   OUR MISSION: To foster camaraderie among United States veterans of overseas conflicts. To serve our veterans, the military, and our communities. To advocate on behalf of all veterans.

OUR VISION: Ensure that veterans are respected for their service, always receive their earned entitlements, and are recognized for the sacrifices they and their loved ones have made on behalf of this great country.


The VFW traces its roots back to 1899 when veterans of the Spanish-American War (1898) and the Philippine Insurrection (1899-1902) founded local organizations to secure rights and benefits for their service. Many arrived home wounded or sick. There was no medical care or veterans' pension for them, and they were left to care for themselves.

In their misery, some of these veterans banded together and formed organizations that would become known as the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States. After chapters were formed in Ohio, Colorado and Pennsylvania, the movement quickly gained momentum. By 1915, membership grew to 5,000; by 1936, membership was almost 200,000.


Since then, the VFW's voice has been instrumental in establishing the Veterans Administration, creating a GI bill for the 20th Century, the development of the national cemetery system and the fight for compensation for Vietnam vets exposed to Agent Orange and for veterans diagnosed with Gulf War Syndrome. In 2008, VFW won a long-fought victory with the passing of a GI Bill for the 21st Century, giving expanded educational benefits to America's active-duty service members and members of the Guard and Reserves fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan.



2023 Officers


Commander - Leo Penkala (Army)
Quartermaster - John Sillita (Air Force)
Sr. Vice: Kody Glover (Marines)
Jr. Vice Commander - Carl Harper (Army)
Chaplain - James Lopez ( Air Force)
Adjudant - Rob Hoepner ( Navy)
Surgeon: Brian Nelson (Navy)
Judge Advocate: Trevor Orsinger ( Air Force)
Asst Judge Advocate: Anthony Conniff (Navy)
Trustee: Ron Marcell (Air Force)
Trustee: Mike Nichols (Army)
Trustee: Jon Brookes (Navy)
Officer of the Day: Bill Wilds (Army)
Service Officers:
Leo Penkala & Trevor Orsinger


President - Jennifer Anselmo
Sr. Vice President - Teri Penkala
Jr. Vice President - Jenny Foxe
Secretary - Shirley Vega
Treasurer - Mary Richter
Chaplain - Shirley Vega
Conductress: Elizabeth Altergott
Guard - Danielle Gregory
Trustee 3yr - Ronald Lindeman
Trustee 2yr - Danielle Gregory
Trustee 1yr - John Ascher
Patriotic Instructor: Mary Richter